Unusual 20x slowdown between nearly identical calculations with CUDA

Greetings. I’m new to CUDA, so I hope this isn’t a stupid question. The image below shows code for three nearly identical calculations. I’m completely baffled as to why example (A) takes nearly 20x longer to run than the other two. This is of course just a simplified example of something else that I’m working on. In my real application I’m not able to simply switch to example (B) or (C). Any insights would be greatly appreciated.

Here’s a text version for copying/pasting:

import numpy as np
import math
from numba import cuda, f8, uint32

@cuda.jit((f8[:,:], uint32))
def mykernel(myarr, aa):
  ix, iy, iz = cuda.grid(3)

bb = 0.0 
  for k in range(0, 2500):
    bb += 0.01

myarr[ix, iy] += math.cos(bb)

n = 5000
m = 10000

myarr = np.zeros((n,m), dtype=np.double)

d_myarr = cuda.to_device(myarr)
mykernel[(n, m, 1), (1, 1, 1)](d_myarr, 5)
myarr = d_myarr.copy_to_host()

After posting this I realized I should probably provide a few more details. The speed of the math.cos calculation seems to depend on the history of how the variable “bb” was calculated, which seems very strange to me. In example A, “bb” is calculated by starting at 0.0 and adding 0.01 to it 2500 times until it reaches 25.0. In example B, “bb” is calculated by simply doing 2500*0.01. And in example C, “bb” is calculated the same as in A, but then it is not used again later. Again, any guidance would be very appreciated. Thank you!

What’s happening in the three cases:

A. The loop executes, and accounts for the majority of execution time.
B. The loop is not present, so execution time is greatly reduced.
C. The loop exists in your code, but the compiler spots that the loop isn’t doing anything useful, so it removes it, and the compiled code is the same (or extremely similar to) case B.