Parallelized code yield different results, what to be careful for?

Hello everybody,

I have a code I got from a Phd student that I try to parallelize using Numba. The result given when parallelized is different from the one without (both in Nopython and object mode). As I am starting with Numba, what should I check for to understand why it is failing ? I already checked for a race condition on the loop, but it seems to be none. Any checklist of “what could go wrong” during parallelization ?

Thanks in advance !

Hello :slight_smile:

Without an example of your code this will be very difficult to answer in general.

I am recalling an issue that was raised recently: Parallel loop prange gives wrong outcomes · Issue #6597 · numba/numba · GitHub

Could your problem be related to the bug discussed there?

Also: How different are the results? Significantly different or more on the order of machine precision?

Hi Hannes,

Thanks for the swift answer. So far I could not reproduce the bug on a smaller scale and the original code is quite long. I’ll post it if I can get something reasonably short.

We are talking about a 20% difference in expected values give or take

Hans, Hi.