Graphics API interop

Hello! I’m very new to Numba, so probably my question is trivial, but are there any possibilities for interop between Numba’s CUDA backend and graphics APIs like D3D12 or Vulkan (related native CUDA APIs for that are cudaImportExternalMemory et al.)?
Basically, what I’d like to do is to allocate a buffer on D3D12 side, pass it to Numba (without GPU/CPU roundtrip), perform some calculations on its values and use the modified buffer for rendering.
I’ve had a look at EMM section in the docs, but didn’t really understand if that could help, unfortunately.

Thank you!

I’m not too familiar with D3D12 and Vulkan, but if you can point me towards an example of what you want to do that uses CUDA C/C++, I can probably point you in the right direction for doing the same thing in Numba. Are there some good short examples of this?

Hello, here is a sample from Nvidia https://github.com/NVIDIA/cuda-samples/blob/master/Samples/simpleD3D12/simpleD3D12.cpp
The most interesting parts are around lines 380-430.

Thanks!

Thanks for the pointer - is there a Python wrapper for D3D12 that you were planning to use, or are you hoping to use C/C++ for the D3D12 work and pass pointers from it into Python to use with Numba?

Nope, I was not planning to use Python outside of Numba, so my desired setup is similar to the sample I’ve linked - a C/C++ DX12 renderer that can use CUDA as some sort of plugin to edit DX12 GPU buffers on-chip.

Thanks. I’ll see if I can find the time to put together an example - this does sound like a fun application of Numba! It will be a little bit of a learning curve for me (I’ve never used any graphics APIs before) but my plan is to package up the code from the example you linked to in a DLL that can be loaded with ctypes as a starter.