Extending Numba for CUDA inside Cppyy

Hello,
I am a beginner in Numba and CUDA. I am working on a project Cppyy where I am trying to add support of passing C++ functions written inside cppdef to numba cuda kernel(decorated by @cuda.jit ).
For example, something like this should work:

from numba import cuda
import numpy as np
import cppyy
import cppyy.numba_ext
import math
cppyy.cppdef('''
             int foo(){
            return 42;
             }
             ''')

@cuda.jit()
def abs_kernel(x, out):
    pos = cuda.grid(1)
    if pos < x.size:
        out[pos] = math.fabs(x[pos])
    cppyy.gbl.foo()

n = 100000
# Example array with negative values
x = np.arange(-n, n).astype(np.float32)  
out = np.empty_like(x)
print("Before operation:", out[:10])
threads_per_block = 128
blocks_per_grid = (out.size + (threads_per_block - 1)) // threads_per_block
abs_kernel[blocks_per_grid, threads_per_block](x, out)
print("After operation:", out[:10])

foo() should be called inside the cuda JITed kernel as shown above but right now it doesn’t work out of the box. To add the support of the following:
Step 1: To follow the logic in lower_external_call in cppyy/numba_ext.py. That will be called to lower the C++ call to LLVM IR. As-is, it re-uses the call infrastructure to external call for the CPU context. Instead, it should check the type of the context and if it is GPU, and then use the CUDA driver logic to dispatch the function. (This should include changes to get_pointer function to get the pointer to the PTX, i.e. device, compiled function.) launch_kernel logic in the driver.py file can be used for the above.

@nb_iutils.lower_builtin(ol, *args)
        def lower_external_call(context, builder, sig, args,
                ty=nb_types.ExternalFunctionPointer(extsig, ol.get_pointer), pyval=self._func, is_method=self._is_method):
            ptrty = context.get_function_pointer_type(ty)
            ptrval = context.add_dynamic_addr(