Numba Warm-up Speed With Cached Functions

I have the following reproducible example where I have an njit Numba function where cache=True is used:

import numpy as np
from numba import njit, prange
import time

@njit(cache=True, parallel=True, fastmath={"nsz", "arcp", "contract", "afn", "reassoc"})
def _rolling_isconstant(a, w):
    l = a.shape[0] - w + 1
    out = np.empty(l)
    for i in prange(l):
        out[i] = np.ptp(a[i : i + w])

return np.where(out == 0.0, True, False)

def rolling_isconstant(a, w):
    axis = a.ndim - 1
    return np.apply_along_axis(
        lambda a_row, w: _rolling_isconstant(a_row, w), axis=axis, arr=a, w=w
    )

np.random.seed(0)
T = np.random.rand(1_000)
m = 50

start = time.time()
out = rolling_isconstant(T, m)
print(time.time() - start)

start = time.time()
out = rolling_isconstant(T, m)
print(time.time() - start)

As expected, the first call (includes compilation time) to rolling_isconstant takes approximately 0.6659 seconds, while the second call is much faster and takes only 0.0003 seconds. Additionally, the function should be cached on file now. However, when I execute the same code again, the first call takes 0.1004 seconds and the second call takes 0.0003 seconds. I would’ve expected the first run to be much faster but maybe this is consistent with the time needed for Numba to warm-up (i.e., get loaded) and the second call doesn’t incur this cost?

If so, when a user wants to call the same function multiple times but across multiple independent processes, is there a way to also minimize/reduce this warm-up time for the user?

1 Like

hi @seanlaw I checked the profiler and it’s quite interesting. 76% of the time is spent in importlib. Over 500 calls to import modules. I’m not sure if it’s right or wrong, but that seems to be where the time goes.