Numba Dict function not compiling

Hi,

I am new to Numba,

I am trying to create a dictionary with uint as keys and a list of uint as values and the size (number of keys) of the dictionary will be a few hundred million or a few 10s of billions. So to gain speed and efficiency over the python dictionary I came across Numba and would like to use it.

Python = 3.7.7
Numba = 0.53.1

from numba import types, typed, njit

@njit
def numba_dict(list_of_lists):
key_dtype = types.uint64
value_dtype = types.uint8
bf_sparse_dict = typed.Dict.empty(
    key_type=key_dtype, value_type=types.ListType(value_dtype)
)

for idx, inner_list in enumerate(list_of_lists):
    for key in inner_list:
        if key not in bf_sparse_dict:
            bf_sparse_dict[key] = typed.List.empty_list(value_dtype)
            bf_sparse_dict[key].append(idx)
        else:
            bf_sparse_dict[key].append(idx)

return bf_sparse_dict

When I try to run this function from a python file I get the following error

numba.core.errors.TypingError: Failed in nopython mode pipeline (step: nopython frontend)
No implementation of function Function(<class 'numba.core.types.containers.ListType'>) found for 
signature:

>>> ListType(class(uint8))

There are 2 candidate implementations:
  - Of which 2 did not match due to:
  Overload in function 'ListType': File: numba/core/extending.py: Line 39.
    With argument(s): '(class(uint8))':
   Rejected as the implementation raised a specific error:
     TypingError: List() argument must be iterable
  raised from /home/ssk/anaconda3/envs/zarrtest/lib/python3.7/site-packages/numba/typed/typedlist.py:561

During: resolving callee type: Function(<class 'numba.core.types.containers.ListType'>)
During: typing of call at bitarray_leveldb_sparse_index.py (270)

File "bitarray_leveldb_sparse_index.py", line 270:
def numba_dict(bloomfilters_list):
    <source elided>
    bf_sparse_dict = typed.Dict.empty(
        key_type=types.uint64, value_type=types.ListType(types.uint8)